Ingredients

Ingredients

Useful Ingredient Information for Juvela Products
Juvela guarantee that all of our gluten-free foods are made from specially sourced ingredients that are safe to eat as part of a healthy, well balanced gluten-free diet. Juvela uses a dedicated gluten-free bakery and approved gluten-free environments to make all their foods.

Listed below are a few of the most commonly queried ingredients and how they relate to Juvela products.

Gluten-Free Wheat Starch
We use an ingredient called Gluten-Free Wheat Starch in many of our products. Made from wheat, it is a suitable substitute ingredient for the production of gluten-free foods, as the gluten has been removed. In order for a food to be classed as gluten-free, it must comply with an internationally agreed standard known as The Codex Standard.

The Codex Standard states that all gluten-free foods must be below 20ppm (twenty parts per million) to be considered gluten-free. At this level people with coeliac disease can safely eat these foods in unlimited amounts. Gluten-Free Wheat Starch complies with the Codex standard and is often referred to as Codex Wheat Starch. It should not be confused with normal wheat starch which is not gluten-free.

We choose to use this ingredient as it produces superior results that most closely resemble the quality of gluten-containing foods in terms of taste and texture. Taste and texture are important factors in adherence to a gluten-free diet.

Pure Oats
Juvela Pure Oats have been specially handled from planting through to production to avoid contamination from other grains. The fields, harvest and production are subject to strict quality control.

Nuts
Our foods do not contain nuts as ingredients, and most are produced in nut free environments with the exception of the Digestive, Tea and Sweet Biscuits (which are produced in a factory that handles nuts). However, as with most food manufacturers, we cannot give a 100% guarantee that ingredients have not come into contact with other nut containing ingredients during processing.

Eggs
The majority of the Juvela products do not contain egg as an ingredient. However, we are not able to guarantee that they are egg free.

Milk and Soya
Some of the Juvela products do not contain milk or soya as an ingredient. However, we are not able to guarantee that they are milk and soya free.

Vitamins and Minerals
Juvela ensure that all the nutrients in our gluten-free foods are at a similar level to their traditional gluten-containing counterparts.

E Numbers
The stabilisers, raising agents and preservatives used are all naturally occurring and contribute to the overall product quality. All our foods are free from genetically modified ingredients.