Ideally, a product will be labelled as gluten free and some supermarkets even state on their packaging whether a product is suitable for people with coeliac disease or feature Coeliac UK's Crossed Grain Symbol. However, sometimes you will need to check the label for gluten, allergens or may contain warnings.
What allergens contain gluten?
Allergens are highlighted in the ingredients list, usually in bold, to make it easy for you to check whether something is suitable for people with coeliac disease. This is the law in the UK and EU countries.
Allergens that contain gluten are:
- Khorasan wheat aka Kamut
If a product contains these things, then they’re not gluten free or suitable for coeliacs.
What about “may contain” warnings?
While some food products may not have an allergen highlighted in the ingredients list, they may have a “may contain gluten” warning on the label. This means that the manufacturer cannot guarantee that the product has not been contaminated with gluten during the manufacturing process. It’s not advised that people with coeliac disease eat products with a “may contain” warning.
What is the Crossed Grain symbol?
Created by Coeliac UK, the Crossed Grain symbol features on products that are certified to be gluten free. Coeliac UK designed the logo to help you shop with confidence and make checking labels easier. Products that feature the Crossed Grain Trademark symbol have been through extra checks to prove that they are safe for coeliacs to eat.
Made especially for people with coeliac disease, Juvela products proudly feature the Crossed Grain symbol.