Blog Posts

Is Rice Gluten Free?

23.09.2021 | by Juvela

When you first make the change to a gluten free diet, you can question whether the most basic things are suitable for people with coeliac disease. Is rice gluten free?

Rice is naturally gluten free. So yes - white rice, brown rice, wild rice, and arborio rice are suitable for people with coeliac disease.

So why the confusion? 

Although rice is naturally gluten free, it may be contaminated with wheat or gluten during the manufacturing process. If this is the case, there should be a “may contain” warning for gluten or allergy advice highlighting risks from manufacturing methods. Always checking the label on a food product is a great habit to get into – read our guide here. Cooking your own rice from scratch is the safest way to avoid being glutened, as ready-made products may have additional ingredients containing gluten added in.

Products derived from rice are often gluten free. Rice paper, rice noodles, and rice vinegar are safe options for coeliacs providing that they haven't been cross contaminated with gluten during the manufacturing process. If you're going to eat sushi, check that the vinegar used to bind the sushi rice together and the fillings are gluten free.

Rice is a staple food in cultures across the world. Now you know that it's gluten free, you can serve it on the side with curries, make rice pudding and enjoy some sushi with peace of mind!

We’d love you to keep in touch - sign up for our emails to keep up to date with delicious recipes and product news.

Sign up now