We can all agree being glutened is pretty scary. Avoid a fright this Halloween by making sure your treats are all gluten free!
We’ve made a handy list of common Halloween food that may contain gluten and some trusted gluten free options, so this year will be all gluten free treats and no tricks! We also have some spooky gluten free recipe suggestions for you to make at home.
Part of the fun of Halloween is the themed gluten free bakes! But before you go crazy with the food colouring, make sure you check the label as food colouring can occasionally contain gluten.
The Dr Oetker range of Extra Strong Food Colouring Gels are gluten free, but always check the label in case of any ingredient updates.
To check that a food is gluten free, scan the ingredients for any allergens which will be highlighted within the ingredients list (usually in bold), making it easy for you to see at a glance whether something is suitable. You might also notice a ‘may contain’ statement on pack, which means there is a risk the product could be contaminated with gluten. If the packaging mentions gluten, wheat, Khorasan wheat (kamut), spelt, oats and rye, then it isn’t suitable for people with coeliac disease.
Sprinkles, hundreds and thousands, fondant icing and cake toppers can sometimes contain gluten, so if you’re buying from a supermarket always check the label to be safe. Many baking websites have a gluten free section for sprinkles and cake decorations too.
Although we may have to celebrate differently this year, there will always be chocolate and sweets on Halloween. That doesn’t change if you have coeliac disease, as there are some great gluten free chocolate options! If you or your child has coeliac disease, check the labels for a ‘may contain’ warning.
Some popular chocolates that contain gluten and to AVOID:
Kit Kats (though Kit Kat Bunnies are gluten free)
Gluten free chocolate:
Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons
Cadbury Goo Heads Crème Eggs
Kinder Surprise Eggs
Kinder Mini Eggs
Kinder Schoko- Bons
Milkybar Giant White Chocolate buttons
Milkybar Buttons Original
Milky Way Magic Stars
Some Haribo products such as Cola Bottles, Fried Eggs, Sour Strawbs, Starmix and Tangfastics are suitable for people with coeliac disease too!
A variety of Swizzles products such as Love Hearts, Parma Violets, Drumstick Squashies and Mummy Mix Bags are gluten free.
You can read an extensive list of gluten free Halloween sweets by Coeliac UK here.
You might be surprised to find out that some crisps contain gluten. Although potatoes are naturally gluten free, some crisps are coated with seasonings using wheat flour or barley malt extract which make them unsuitable for coeliacs. Thankfully, there's many brands of crisps outside of the Free From aisle that are 'accidentally gluten free' and safe for coeliacs.
Some gluten free crisps include:
Kettle Chips (all flavours are certified gluten free and produced in a gluten free environment)
Tesco Tortilla Chips
As always, check the label if you're unsure.
Try making these frighteningly good gluten free recipes as snacks for a spooky film night!
Don't be fooled, these gnarly witches' fingers are actually crunchy sweet biscuits with almond nails! These terrifyingly tasty biscuits are really easy to make, so they're a great option for baking with children.
Read the recipe here.
Another quick and easy recipe that's the perfect dinner for little Frankensteins. Just top a Juvela Gluten Free Roll with olive eyes and cut some fangs into a slice of cheese to make these ghoulish burgers!
View the recipe here!