Fresh Bread Information for Patients

Juvela Fresh Bread and Rolls

Juvela’s range of Fresh Loaves and Fresh Rolls are delivered within hours of being baked to ensure maximum taste and freshness!

Storage Advice

As our Fresh Bread and Fresh Rolls are delivered in Cases of 8 Packs, we recommend that 1 or 2 packs are consumed as fresh and the remaining packs are frozen on day of receipt. You can then simply defrost at room temperature and consume as fresh when required.

*Mixed Cases are currently available in mainland UK only.  Please note too that if you live in Northern Ireland, your fresh bread is delivered once a week on a Thursday. Your pharmacist must place the order before 10am on the preceding Monday.

74 Responses to “Fresh Bread Information for Patients”

  1. leeannekara27

    my daughter has just been diagnosed with coeliac disease and as a parent this is all new to me all the help is really goo

    Reply
  2. Vicky123

    My daughter has just been diagnosed and it’s such a lifestyle change, just hope she can put some weight on now as she had lost nearly 2kg because she is coeliac 🙁 any help is appreciated, can you buy this bread if you run out from the prescription amount?

    Reply
    • jadmin

      Hi Vicky, you can purchase our bread through the pharmacy, if you have used your prescription amount up. We always advise you check the price before ordering though as some pharmacies will add a considerable mark-up to the price. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  3. SUNNIE

    Alsomy GP requested Coaeliac diease blood screen it came up to start with and then next b/t it appeared normal therefore there werent enough gluten inside me. Although I told my GP I have had real problem with gluten for years which left my belly looking like 9 months pregnant!!! It was horrid for me and leaving me feeling very low and bloated. So, GP has instructed me to STAY OFF gluten and go gluten free to make life comfortable health wise ie gluten free diet and this fresh white bread that the “client” changed her mind with her order left a pack at the chemist she gave out for free and she knew I have gluten intolerate and this bread is sooooo delicous unlike other gluten free ones!!! That is why I want to order your brands and start enjoying eating it once a day 🙂 Sunnie xxxxx

    Reply
  4. raynor707

    regarding sunnie s experience.I too have terrible bloating
    d ue to not being on a gluten free diet.

    Reply
  5. Mongybong

    This is all so new to me as I was only diagnosed 2 wks ago.
    So much information to take in. I am waiting to see the dietitian and doctor. I didn’t realise you could get so much
    on prescription, which will help so much. I went to supermarket and looked at the gluten-free section – a small
    loaf was £2.48!!!! Thank you so much for all this new information.

    Reply
    • jadmin

      You’re welcome, I glad you found our website useful. I you registered on our website you should be receiving some gluten-free samples to try, which hopefully you will enoy. If you have any questions or need any support please ask. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  6. Mtherbarnett

    I have just come back from the hospital where I have been informed that I have celiac and have to go on a glutton free diet as I am new to this and I am now waiting to go to the support groups any help you can give me will be very much appreciated

    Reply
    • jadmin

      When you join the Juvela Club (register on this website) we will send out one of our starter packs to you, which contains useful information and lots of gluten-free foods to help you get started. If you have any questions or need support our friendly team are available Mon-Fri 9am-5pm on 0800 783 1992 or email info@juvela.co.uk. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  7. agallagher7

    My daughter who is just 5 and is a type 1 diabetic has just been diagnosed with coeliac disease. We are also waiting to see a dietician but no information was given to us during this waiting period and I am keen to get her off gluten asap so we purchased some items at sainsburies which were terribly expensive and as a normal 5 year old she proceeded to try and didn’t like 🙁 your samples could prove very useful …..

    Reply
    • jadmin

      Hi Amanda, we hope you received the samples and your daughter is enjoying trying them. Please let us know if you have any questions or we can be any help. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  8. Amanda1959

    I have registered on behalf of my husband who has just been diagnosed after having his gall bladder out! Only to find he is coeliac! It’s awful trying to find things for him to eat especially as he is a night worker and takes packed lunches any advice would be wonderful.

    Reply
  9. susie boo

    I requested one of you sample packs even though I have been a coeliac for years. My GP hasn’t been terribly helpful with my supplies of gluten free, in fact I only have your long life bread and flour mix on my prescription. So imagine my sheer joy at the contents of your sample box.
    This food is second to none and I can’t wait to see my GP to request your fresh rolls and pizza bases. I had forgotten that bread could taste that good. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for improving my quality of diet. Shop supplies have improved but are not a patch on your products.

    Reply
    • jadmin

      Hi Susie, thank you so much for your message, we are thrilled that you are enjoying our gluten-free foods. If you need any advice or support our team are always happy to help! 0800 783 1992. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  10. susieb755

    Due to a hopeless GP I am only diagnosed as wheat intolerent, but a friend gave me a pack of your rolls, they are superb, and I would love to be able to buy some – can I order through your site ?

    Reply
  11. jadmin

    Hi Susie, our products are only available from local pharmacies. If you do not have a coeliac diagnosis you can order them through the pharmacy, but the pharmacies sometimes add their own mark-up to the price, so this can work out quite expensive, always check the price before ordering. If you want advice on getting diagnosed see Coeliac UK’s website; https://www.coeliac.org.uk/coeliac-disease/getting-diagnosed/. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

    Reply
  12. djbrewerton

    What are the PIP Codes for the mixed cases please? Your website doesn’t give these vital ordering codes and my last two attempts to get the mixed packs have resulted in receiving 8 loaves and 8 packs of rolls which is far more than I have capacity for.

    Reply
    • jadmin

      Hello, the Fresh Mixed Cases don’t have a separate PIP code, PIP codes are only issued to new products and as a mixed case is simply a combination of two products it would not have a new PIP code. There is information on the website; https://www.juvela.co.uk/news/fresh-choices/ but basically your prescription needs to have two lines of fresh products, e.g. 4 x Juvela Fresh White Bread and then on new line 4 x Juvela Fresh Fibre Rolls. The pharmacy need to be aware when they place the order, that this is for a fresh mixed case. If you need us to speak with your pharmacy to help facilitate this please call our advice line on 0800 783 1992 so we can take some more details. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  13. Juliewarner10@me.com

    My 3 year old daughter has just started her gf diet and this is the best white gf bread I have found!

    Reply
    • jadmin

      Hi Julie, thanks for your feedback, so glad to hear your daughter is enjoying our gluten-free bread! Please let us know if you need any help and advice with managing her gluten-free diet. Thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  14. Barbrandy

    Thanks for info and providing help when needed (I will be visiting site looking up recipes and other information) . Looking forward to receiving samples. Can’t wait to eat some nice bread. Have tried quite a few but have not enjoyed any. This is what I am missing most since being diagnosed (it’s only been 4 weeks).

    Reply
    • jadmin

      You’re welcome! If you need any advice or support please let us know. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  15. Alan Corfield

    Could you tell me the code for ordering mixed case of fresh fibre bread and fibre rolls. I have the individual codes 339-9789 (bread) and 355-6800 (rolls) but don’t know what the mixed case code is for my doctor to add on to my presciption.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hello Alan,

      The way Mixed Cases are put onto prescription can vary slightly – can you please give us a quick call on 0800 783 1992 and we’ll take further details from you and advise appropriately.

      Kind regards,
      The Juvela Team

      Reply
  16. AbbieM

    Hi, Juvela fresh white bread is by far the best bread i have had since being diagnosed. I have ran out though and just wanted to order some. Is the only way i can do this through the pharmacy? I need it again!

    Reply
  17. Barbara Ball

    I live in Enfield who have decided that coeliacs do not need the staff of life on prescription so after 20+ years this comes as a bit of a blow
    can you tell me how I can buy your fibre bread and flour mix the chemist quoted £6.10 per loaf I’d love to buy it but being a
    pensioner its well out of reach can you help with this matter please

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Barbara, so sorry that you are now unable to have gluten free products prescribed. I totally understand how this will have impacted on your life after having the support for so many years. I have attached the following link which will give you more in-depth advise about prescription restrictions https://www.juvela.co.uk/news/prescription-restrictions-update-2/ We aren’t currently able to offer a direct ordering facility for our foods and we don’t currently supply to shops, however we will keep you posted if this changes and there are new ways to obtain our products. You can order/purchase via your local pharmacy, however we always advise that you check the price before ordering as they can add a high mark up to our prices. There are also online pharmacies who you could try, they sometimes offer more competitive prices or offers on bulk orders. I hope this helps, many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  18. Rachel Bonsor

    The West Suffolk Clinical Commissioning Group has stopped prescriptions for gluten free bread etc for anyone over the age of 18 with effect from this month. I am sure like me a lot of coeliacs are really disappointed as your products are exceptionally good. I have been using them for years. Could you please advise if you are considering making your bread and rolls available in food shops Thank you for your attention

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Rachel, sorry to hear that you are restricted on gluten free foods in your area. We aren’t currently able to offer a direct ordering facility for our foods and we don’t currently supply to shops, however we will keep you posted if this changes and there are new ways to obtain our products. You can order/purchase via your local pharmacy, however we always advise that you check the price before ordering as they can add a high mark up to our prices. There are also online pharmacies who you could try, they sometimes offer more competitive prices or offers on bulk orders. I hope this helps, many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  19. Sue Dampier

    In West Suffolk, if you are over 18, you can no longer obtain Juvela gluten-free products on prescription through your GP. Investigations locally show that pharmacists add around 100% mark-up to the products they order from Juvela, making fresh products incredibly costly and out of reach of many coeliacs. When will Juvela make such products available directly to the public via online ordering?

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Sue, sorry to hear that you are restricted on gluten free foods in your area. We aren’t currently able to offer a direct ordering facility but we will keep you posted if this changes and there are new ways to obtain our products. You can order/purchase via your local pharmacy, however we always advise that you check the price before ordering as they can add a high mark up to our prices. There are also online pharmacies who you could try, they sometimes offer competitive prices or offers on bulk orders. I hope this helps, many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  20. gemmalouise22

    Hi, I have recently been diagnosed with coeliac disease and I have tried various bread, however I have just received the bread starter pack and I have to say I am truly surprised at how nice this bread is. Now I know I can get this through the pharmacy I will definitely be requesting Juvela products. I would definitely recommend the bread to new coeliacs! Thank you Juvela!

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Gemma, Great to hear that you enjoyed the Juvela fresh bread samples….totally agree it is Amazing!! Very reassuring to know when you are first diagnosed there is a gluten free bread that is so close to the “real thing”!! Thank you, The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  21. Caro

    Further to Sue’s comment – I live in East Suffolk and am no longer allowed Gluten Free prescriptions either. I have enjoyed Juvela fibre bread rolls for years and never found anything nicer – will you add me to your list to advise if you are ever able to supply direct? Cannot afford the Pharmacy prices on a pension – and living in a rural village it is difficult to buy any gluten free products nearer than Tesco… which is some 15 miles away! Thank you!

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Sue, I have just popped an email through to you. We would be more than Happy to add your details to our list. Thanks for getting in touch. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  22. Bernadette Stewart

    I would like to say that the Juvela fresh brown bread and rolls are the nicest gluten free bread I have tasted. I order them every month on my prescription.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Ah, that is just fabulous to hear!! Thank you so much for your Kind comments. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  23. flea

    A quick thanks to the lovely lady on the helpline today who was so informative to a newbie like me about prescription ordering. Love your white bread, many thanks for the sample pack

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Frances, thank you so much for taking the time to get in touch and your lovely comments. We totally understand how daunting it can be when you are first diagnosed with the Coeliac condition and are so happy to be here from the beginning, to help you get to grips with all aspects of your gluten free diet. Very best wishes to you, The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  24. Jane Craven

    My husband has recently had gluten free products removed from his prescription due to the cost to his Surgery, even though he is diabetic and carbohydrates are key. He has had Juvela fresh bread for a long time and it is much nicer than the bread we get in our local supermarket. I know you don’t offer a direct service to members of the public as yet but please can I ask that it be seriously considered as sadly more and more NHS trusts will be looking to reduce costs this way.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hello Jane, I am really sorry to hear that your husband can no longer have gluten free products prescribed. Due to you husband also being diabetic it is important that you do discuss this with your GP as their support is needed to recognise the additional dietary support he needs managing 2 separate conditions. We understand how the prescription restrictions are affecting people and therefore want to ensure we can continue to support people who have been reliant on our products for many years. We will update our website should we have any further news. Thank you, The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  25. Farrukh

    Hi, my surgery only alow us 8 units a month and in these 8 units we can’t have stuff we can use for the whole month. My daughter loves juvela food and doesn’t want to try any other gluten free food.My request is about fresh bread that instead of doing 8 packs of white bread, which is complete 8 units, do something like 4 packs of fresh bread in a box . In this case we can use remaining 4 units for other juvela products.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Farrukh, we are aware that units are restricted in certain areas and understand how this can impact on what you order on prescription. Currently due to logistics we are only able to dispatch the bread as 8 in total. You are also able to order a mixed case which will allow 2 different products within the same box. Our fresh bread does freeze really well, so it may be worth ordering the bread one month and different products the following month. Best wishes. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  26. Farrukh

    Please you should give us the choice to buy juvela food online straight from you instead from eBay or Amazon! Which is very expensive.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Farrukh, many thanks for getting in touch. We are mindful of people with the coeliac condition who no longer have the support of obtaining basic gluten free products on prescription. We will update our website should we be able to offer our products directly. In the meantime we would suggest that you have a look at chemist.net as they also provide our products directly. Best wishes. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  27. Carl Williams

    Hi, I hope you can help me I have been eating your bread rolls now for 5 years plus and enjoy them , but can you explain to me when my prescription bread arrives say on the 28th the Best before date is 29-30th, on the bread. OK I freeze the rest of the box, but surely it should come with a little more date on it. I live in Yorkshire!

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Carl, Fresh bread should be delivered to your pharmacy on Wednesday or Fridays. There should be a minimum of 5 days shelf life remaining and the bread that is not required to be eaten straight away should be frozen upon receipt. Historically we find fresh bread has a short date due to a delay in delivery or if it has been in the pharmacy a few days prior to collection. Please ask your pharmacy to give you a call as soon as the bread arrives and do please let us know if the pharmacy advises you the bread is not arriving on the correct days. Thanks, The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  28. Barbara Smith

    I am making this enquiry for my brother, can you advise when your bread will be available in my chorley pharmacy, it has been over a month now so any information will be a help.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Barbara,
      Fresh bread deliveries have now resumed and you should not experience any delay in getting this. However, we are now working with our bakery to maintain stock level of all our long life bread products, unfortunately this is resulting that some products are temporarily unavailable. It is important that the pharmacy do keep trying to place the order to fulfill your prescription. Please give us a call on our free phone number to ensure we support you further at this time. Kind Regards. The Juvela Team

      Reply
  29. Carol Fletcher

    I have not had any bread delivered to my pharmacist for about 2 months now, why is there such a delay? I live in Windsor.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Carol,
      Fresh bread deliveries have now resumed and you should not experience any delay in getting this. However, we are now working with our bakery to maintain stock level of all our long life bread products, unfortunately this is resulting that some products are temporarily unavailable. It is important that the pharmacy do keep trying to place the order to fulfill your prescription. Please give us a call on our free phone number to ensure we support you further at this time. Kind Regards. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  30. Caroline Thomas

    Hi, since your ovens broke down your bread is dry. Have you changed the recipe?

    My daughter only likes your bread but hasn’t had a sandwich for weeks as its only good enough for toast.

    I have frozen on day of delivery so hasn’t been hanging around.

    Ant comments gratefully received – I can’t be the only one who’s found this?

    Thank you

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Caroline, we havent changed the recipe but we do have some new equipment in the bakery which may be the reason you’ve noticed a change, if you could give us a call so we can take some more details from you (i.e. batch number BBE date etc) and we can replace the product for you – 0800 783 1992. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Ian, Currently a case of 8 x fresh white loaves costs approximately £29.00 however the pharmacy will apply there own mark-up price to a product, so we would always recommend you check the price before committing to an order. Kind Regards, The Juvela team.

      Reply
  31. William Chisholme

    Have been waiting over a week for prescription to be filled. Pharmacy tell me it is a problem with manufacturer. Could you please advise if this is true and if so, how long I can expect to wait ?

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hello, we have had a problem with low stock levels, however all of our products should now be back in stock. If your pharmacy try to place the orde again they should be able to, however if there are still problems please call us on 0800 783 1992 and we can look into this further for you. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  32. Patrick kelly

    Nhs kernow (Cornwall)is stopping all gf foods from nove30th.if as you say pharmacy s add extra onthe price ,should this not be brought to light..I don’t like any other bread but yours so why can I not order straight from you .why through a pharmacy. I don’t want to pay extras to them.they have done us good and proper haven’t they. Playing with people’s health.this should be brought out in the open its not the coeliac sober ordering its others making a fast buck .

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Patrick, we are looking into other methods to make our foods available for those who are facing restrictions, however at present it is only through the pharmacy. There is an online pharmacy called http://www.chemist.net who dont add a huge markup to the price so it might be worth looking on there. If you need any further support or information please get in touch. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Margaret, unfortunately not at the moment the only place you can order/purchase our products is via the pharmacy. We are looking into other ways to make them avaialable and will keep you posted if there are new channels you can use. Thank you, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  33. Colin Cason

    I have been receiving your fresh fibre loaf for a number of years now.For the last few months I have found the quality has deteriorated and last months was ,due to dryness,almost inedible. Unfortunately ,this bread is the only one I like and would ask that you get back to your previous high standard asap.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hello Colin, we are sorry to hear you have experienced this, we would like to take some more details about the changes you have experienced and if possible the batch numbers and BBE dates so we can pass on your feedback to our production team at the bakery. Please can you contact our advice line on 0800 783 1992. Thank you, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  34. Philip Carr

    Could you let me know how much your fresh white bread should be at a Pharmacist. I have been having it on prescription for years but now that has been stopped.

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Philip, We are sorry to hear you are facing restrictions in your area. There are some CCGs who are limiting or stopping gluten free prescribing and we are aware that this is very frustrating for coeliacs in those areas who currently get gluten free foods on prescription. Unfortunately, at present we don’t sell our products directly as we are set up to supply to pharmaceutical wholesalers and we’re not a retail company so it is difficult for us to give you a price as this is set by the individual pharmacy. You can still purchase our products from pharmacies, we would advise you check the price before ordering though as the pharmacy can add their own markup and the price can vary between different chemists so it may be worth shopping around before placing an order. There is also an online pharmacy called http://www.chemist.net where you can order Juvela products online with free delivery when you spend over a certain amount. We apologise that at present there isn’t an alternative to this, but we will let people know if there are in future different ways to get hold of our products. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  35. Fiona

    We live in Somerset, and Ccg have stopped prescriptions. My five year old son only eats your bread. Come on Juvela, when are you going to find a new business model as your current one is declining as more Ccgs follow suit? Link up with Amazon or Ocado?

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hello Fiona, many thanks for your message. I am really sorry that your son is no longer able to have our products prescribed and is missing the gluten free bread that he has previously enjoyed. We are mindful of the situation and may be able to offer our products via another source in the future, this would then reflect on our website. In the meantime our products can be ordered from any pharmacy but due to a market up price being added, we do advise that the price is confirmed before committing to an order. Thanks again and very best wishes. The Juvela Team.

      Reply
  36. Mrs Patricia Cusson

    My gastroenterologist wants me to try gluten free for a couple of months! I hsve tried every gluten free bread I can find & am not impressed. A friend gave me the Name Juvena & said the rolls were good but it doesn’t look I can just go & buy them anywhere! Can you tell me where I could try to get them please! Thank you!

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      Hi Patricia, you’re right Juvela isn’t available to buy in shops, we supply our products via pharmacies for those diagnosed with coeliac disease. If you haven’t yet been tested for coeliac disease I would recommend you read the information on Coeliac UK’s website before starting a gluten free diet; https://www.coeliac.org.uk/coeliac-disease/getting-diagnosed/. If you have any questions feel free to call our team on 0800 783 1992. Thank you, The Juvela Team

      Reply
  37. Charlie T

    My prescriptions have also been stopped and I would like to order more flour but not at the mark up price from pharmacies. I agree that it would be helpful if Juvela could create a direct ordering system otherwise I can’t see how it could last with more and more prescriptions being stopped. Thanks

    Reply
    • Juvela Admin

      We are sorry to hear you are facing restrictions in your area. There are some CCGs who are limiting or stopping gluten free prescribing and we are aware that this is very frustrating for coeliacs in those areas who currently get gluten free foods on prescription. Unfortunately, at present we don’t sell our products directly as we are set up to supply to pharmaceutical wholesalers and we’re not a retail company. However you can still purchase our products from pharmacies, we would advise you check the price before ordering though as the pharmacy can add their own mark-up and the price can vary between different chemists so it may be worth shopping around before placing an order. There is also an online pharmacy called http://www.chemist.net where you can order Juvela products online with free delivery when you spend over a certain amount. We apologise that at present there isn’t an alternative to this, but we will let people know if there are in future different ways to get hold of our products. Many thanks, The Juvela Team

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)